Halloween-themed Warmachine Tournament Recap

Posted: October 20, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I had a chance to make it out to a Warmachine tournament today at Giga-bites Cafe in Marietta. It was run by the local pressganger, and was a blast. Since it was a Halloween tournament, we had special scenarios for each game that were based around Halloween.

We ended up going four rounds, so it was a long tournament. I played Circle Orboros with the following list:

Kromac the Ravenous
Feral Warpwolf
Feral Warpwolf
Pureblood Warpwolf

Shifting Stones
Tharn Bloodweavers
Druid Stoneward and Woldstalkers

Round 1:
Played against Khador, a Harkevich list. Several warjacks, Winterguard, mortars.  The scenario was “Aww, do I have to take him along?”.  Basically, your warcaster/lock got a younger sibling that had to be taken to the 8″ diameter pumpkin patch in the center of the table.  Victory points were assigned for each turn that your sibling was in the patch.  He was a smaller version of the warcaster, with 10hp, half the focus/fury, two spells, etc.

I ended up winning when I killed Harkevich with Kromac in melee.

 

Round 2:

Khador again, an epic Sorscha Winterguard list featuring Conquest.  The scenario was Trick or Treating – 9 flag markers spaced around the board had to be collected, and the first player to get 5 won.   Each time a flag got collected, a roll was made on a table, with a variety of different effects based on the roll.

I ended up losting to caster kill.

 

Round 3:

More Khador, another Harkevich list.  The scenario here had two tombs on the table, one on each player’s side.  They had ARM 22, 40hp, and popped out incorporeal ghosts each turn that could be moved by the players.  To win you had to destroy your opponent’s tomb.

I was sure I was going to lose when my opponent started sending bombard shots from Destroyers and Black Ivan to the tomb, whittling down its hit points.  However, I underestimated the speed of my own warpwolves, who ran in and saved the day.  Number of attacks won out, and I destroyed my enemy’s tomb with 7hp left on my own.

Round 4:

Played against Cygnar, in the Trick or Treat scenario.  A newer player, who didn’t have a great list and seemed to still be learning a lot of the rules.  I ended up winning by killing pStryker with Woldstalkers.

 

Overall I placed 4th in the tourney, which makes me happy.

Leave a Reply

