I think I’ve been bitten by the ork bug.  Again.  For those who might not know, orks are Games Workshop’s big greenskinned baddies, at times silly, crude, clumsy, hysterical, and brutal.  Someone on the Dakkadakka forums posted to see if there was interest in a kustom greenskin dice order from Q Workshop.  The greenskin dice are custom ork dice, with an orc skull on the 6 face and crude slashes on the other sides, counting up.   I looked at pictures, and they are some of the purtiest dice you’ve ever laid eyes on.  Naturally, I want in.  The last several times that kustom orders were placed, there were a ton of different color options; you could get black dice with white marks, green dice with yellow marks, and so on.  They look really, really cool!!  I get excited about stuff like this.  It looks like there is enough interest in an order(about 2K dice have to be ordered to make it worthwhile), so I’m looking out for the thread detailing how/when to order.  Dice cost is apparently somewhere around $1.30/die, which isn’t bad for fully custom dice.  At least, to my limited knowledge it isn’t.

In the meantime, I got bitten by the ork bug.  I have a Warhammer Orcs and Goblins army in Texas, and I’ve always really liked the greenskins.  In Fantasy I prefer goblins, but in Warhammer 40K it’s all about the orks with guns.  Lots and lots of loud, crude firearms in the arms of 7-foot tall green monsters.  I haven’t played Warhammer 40K in about a decade, and have been sitting on a chaos space marine army for ages that I’m trying to trade/sell.  6th edition just came out, so I thought that this year might be the time to start collecting.  So I’m looking to begin an ork army at some point, because I love all the ork miniatures out there.  Playing the game will probably be secondary to just having a huge horde of orks.  I get a lot of enjoyment out of painting miniatures, so it’s something to look forward to.

Orks are a fungus/animal hybrid, and they spread wherever they go.  They’re born with intuitive knowledge of mechanics, firearms, etc.  They’re big, and they keep growing throughout their lives.  Ork nobs are the bigger orks, who’ve been around for a battle or fifty.  As orks age, their green skin also gets darker.  Orks love a good fight, and going fast – a lot of ork hordes(or Waaaghs) consist entirely of orks in trukks or on bikes, traveling as fast as they can from battle to battle.  They’re simplistic, but fun.  From what I’ve read, orks don’t win too many battles on the tabletop, because they’re a complex army to play properly.  That’s alright though – a ton of the ork players I’ve seen online seem to collect orks purely for the fun of modifying and scratchbuilding.  They are some of the most creative modelers out there, and it’s always fun to see what an ork player will come up with next.

As I said, I got bitten by the ork bug.  I channeled some of that energy into a creative endeavor, and made some orc skull print dice bags, both for myself and for my Etsy.  I used a screen printing tutorial I found online, a cheap and easy way of doing it that doesn’t require a ton of money to set up.  I think materials and supplies cost me less than $20 – the most expensive items are the Mod Podge glue and the fabric paint(at about $7.99 each).

Ork skulls are easy to draw – lots of straight choppy lines, and big teeth(teef).  Take a look at the pictures below to see what I came up with, and check them out at Greyed Out, my Etsy shop.

 

 

Leave a Reply

