Thoughts from Places: Piedmont Park

Posted: May 19, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

On Tuesday I took a trip via MARTA and headed downtown to a place called Piedmont Park.  It was cold, and windy, and wearing my kilt probably wasn’t the best idea in the world.  The trip to get there isn’t fast, but it’s relatively easy once you know your way around downtown Atlanta.  The MARTA station is very close to the theatre district, and the Woodruff Arts Center and the High Museum of Art are also close.

All in all I had perhaps an hour at the park, and I didn’t get to explore all of it.  We had a cold front the past few days, and the day I chose to adventure in the park it was probably around 60* F, windy, and chilly.  It looks like a great place to walk and run, and they also have some baseball and soccer fields, from what I saw.  I strolled for about twenty minutes, and then found a park bench so I could sit and write for a bit longer, before I had to find my way back to the train station to make my way home.

The park looks large on the map, but that could be deceiving – one runner passed me several times as I sat and wrote.  It was a fun trip, and I’ll probably go back a few times when the weather is warmer again.

I’ve also decided to start drawing again, because I need to in order to improve.  I’m calling it a Drawn365, a drawing(or more) per day, and I’m going to try to upload them here.  They will probably also show up on my Tumblr, thekiltedgerman.tumblr.com  – so keep an eye out.  I’m interested in seeing the improvement over time.  Here is the first sketch, based off an old man’s picture.

Leave a Reply

