Thoughts on a Green Revolution

Posted: March 25, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

It’s Thursday night, and my fiancée and other roommate are having a 90’s night – Clueless, Beverly Hills 90210, Smirnoff Ice, Lunchables, Gushers Fruit Snacks.  It’s a Girl Thing, I’m told.  I’m content to pen down a new blog post and relax with the little black kitten cat that is nice enough to share our home with us.

My fiancée and I have been talking about undergoing a Green Revolution together.  What does that mean?  Well, it involves making our own toothpaste, our own deodorant, and so on.  Moving away from highly processed chemicals where we can, and instead opting for natural alternatives.  I haven’t been able to contribute much – she’s the one who is willing to dive in and create and mix and become an alchemist for us.  But I am happy to use the products, and I think it’s a great idea.  I feel that there is something to be gained by moving a step away from using items in which you can’t pronounce any of the ingredients.

She recently ordered a book on soapmaking, with an eye on making our own soaps for use at home, and potentially selling extra bars on our Etsy.  A book on canning fruits and vegetables came along with the soapmaking book, and I have to say, I’m very much looking forward to making our own pickles, and experimenting with jams and jellies.  There is a customer at my dad’s restaurant who makes his own pickles, and is always dropping off jars for us to try.  While I don’t think we’ll go to those lengths, it will certainly be an adventure!

I’m not an alchemist by any means, but I can sew – which means that I’ve been spending time thinking about sewing my own shirts, based loosely on a “Renaissance Faire” design, but with sleeves that are more fitted, and more like modern shirts, or even late-19th century working man’s shirts.  It’s all still in the planning stages, but I’d also like to sew my own waistcoats and vests if and when I get the chance.  It’s the ultimate way to control my wardrobe.  On the subject of sewing, I feel I should put in a quick plug for our Etsy shop here, since it’s currently featuring a number of smaller sewn items that I’ve designed.  Our Etsy shop name is Greyedout.  Look us up, and say hello!

Comments
  1. Lacey says:

    Congratulations! You and your lady are embarking on a journey which I, and many others, are far to chicken to even attempt! I’d love to try DIYing everything, living green and unplugging and all that, but I honestly wouldn’t know where to begin! Thank you for documenting your adventure for us… maybe with a little time and encouragement, and the knowledge that “hey, maybe it isn’t so bad”, the rest of us can ease our way in…

    However, I do have a thought or two on making your own Jam. I did it… Red pepper Jam, actually. It was Fan-Freakin-Tastic, but the process took a lot of time and focus, and created a LOT more product than I thought it would, so I wasn’t prepared with enough jars. Not to mention the sticky mess. So, passing on my knowledge: Be prepared with lots of extra jars, just in case; be ready with cleaning supplies that will get through really sticky messes, and be prepared to use or sell your jam fairly quickly, as it certainly doesn’t have the shelf life of the store bought stuff.

    Best of luck, Lovies!

    -Sparky

Leave a Reply

